Sunsets from Cypress Mountain.

The weather this weekend has been FABULOUS! My brother and his fiancée went up to Cypress Mountain to see the sunset over Vancouver, and I tagged along for the ride.  It took about 15 minutes by car, although the drive up was full of twists and turns and steep hills!! It was almost like being back in the European Alps!

We reached Burrett’s Landing just in time to see the sun set over Vancouver and I have to say that there isn’t a sight quite like it.  I’ve been and seen a lot of sunsets in different places, and I have to say that this would be one of my top 10 sunsets!  (My number one sunset has to be in Santorini from both the pirate-like ship with local Greek music playing in the background, and watching the whitewash buildings turn to orange, and overlooking all the other islands from the city of Thera. There isn’t a view quite like it.) If you ever do get to visit Greece, Santorini is the place to go!

17872_287677698491_521524_n

View from the pirate like boat in Santorini.

17872_287678163491_4392161_n

View from Thera, Santorini.

Anyway back to Vancouver! Watching the skies turn orange over Vancouver was pretty spectacular, although it was a little hazy and couldn’t really see beyond Greater Vancouver, and Victoria Island.  My brother pointed out Mt. Baker (which is in Washington State, USA,) to me in the distance, I nearly missed it as it was really hard to spot due to the haze.  As I was taking photographs, I spotted a LOT of barges and ships in the inlet, making their way up to the port.  It was a bit like watching a puzzle play out as the barges tried to navigate the inlet to the port without hitting each other!   After spending some time on Burrett’s Landing, we drove up to the very top of Cypress and I saw the ski/snowboarding runs, in all its natural glory, minus the snow.

IMG_2480

Downtown Vancouver and Stanley Park.

IMG_2484

Vancouver Island and fir trees.

IMG_2482

The barges slowly making their way up the inlet to the port plus Vancouver Island in the distance.

IMG_2483

The greater Vancouver area.

IMG_2488

Lion’s Gate Bridge and parts of Stanley Park.

IMG_2487

Vancouver Island in the distance.

IMG_2486

Mt. Baker, in Washington State, USA.

If you wanted to see a sunset or the twinkling lights of Vancouver, this would be the perfect place to be! Bring a warm jacket, a camera, a hot drink, and just watch the Mother Nature show!

That’s All Folks! Until Next Time!

Leave a comment